top of page
Search

It's Been a Day

It's Been a Day

By Jonas Ruiz


It's been a day, at least 24 hours since I have taken my last antidepressant

About three days since Ive had an uninterrupted night without waking in cold sweats

One week, an entire week has past since I’ve talked so my so called friends

And it has been two since I have opened up or felt connected to anyone to begin with

One long month since I’ve had my last trip and I'll tell you even if it might be killing my brain, I see that as a better alternative to how I'm feeling now

About three months have past since I’ve looked in the mirror and connected to the person I'm looking at

Six since I've looked and felt confident about myself to begin with

And then one year since I've had my last relationship, and even longer than that since I've felt happy in one

Now, half of a year has gone by since I have even considered myself ready to try again

Within three months I had given up such a thought

Then a month went by where I had been feeling slightly better about myself

All it took was one week to bring me back down again

For the last three days the only thing I’ve felt was tired

Currently the last 24 hours I've been struggling to get out of bed.


It's only been 24 minutes since I’ve had my last breakdown in the shower,

So when you say it’s been a day

It has been a day for all of us

And I don't know if keeping it in has helped me at all

But I know that I don't need your melancholy

I have enough of my own



21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“you’re a word / i can’t forget” by Lexi Merring

Inspired by “Dancing After Death” - Matt Maeson look at us- dancing on the sun, melting on the surface, smoking underneath. i feel a burning on my tongue, an ache in my throat from the words you want

bottom of page