top of page
Search

“Tell them what you saw in me (Not the way I am)” by Natasha Watts

Inspired by “Goodbye, My Danish Sweetheart” - Mitski


I’m running out of space in my backyard.

Looking out, it’s a sea of earthy mounds; The bodies of those I’ve buried in my memory.


I hate the feeling of dirt under my fingernails.

Marked an unclean, I track it in with my shoes

Into every new room I try to enter.


I wonder if I should plant flowers. The plain dirt graves are unpleasant But that’s how I want everyone to see them.


I know what I would plant on each one, though.

The gardens I helped each of them grow Linger in the back of my mind.


That’s what they’d want. Their memories topped with final sweetness;

The potential we never cultivated.


I sense that I’m a hypocrite. I’d want my blossoming heart to be remembered,

But I’ve been choking on dirt for a while now.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

“you’re a word / i can’t forget” by Lexi Merring

Inspired by “Dancing After Death” - Matt Maeson look at us- dancing on the sun, melting on the surface, smoking underneath. i feel a burning on my tongue, an ache in my throat from the words you want

Connections, Fall 2020

Hello Everyone! Congratulations on making it through 2020. It has been difficult, and we all need to feel connected to each other somehow. This edition ended up being really special and coming at the

bottom of page